Land Heritage Program

The Family Land Heritage Program honors farms and ranches that have been in continuous agricultural operation by the same family for 100 years or more. The program is designed to recognize and chronicle the unique history of Texas agriculture and the men and women who settled this great state and continue the tradition today.

Since the program started in 1974, the Texas Department of Agriculture has recognized more than 4,020 farms and ranches in 226 counties across Texas. Fayette County has the most Family Land Heritage honorees with 124 properties, Houston County is next with 84 properties, Austin and Gillespie County are tied with 82 properties each, DeWitt County has 80 properties and Medina County has 78 properties.

In 2000, the Family Land Heritage Program started recognizing families who have kept their farm or ranch in agricultural production for 150 and 200 years. Since then, five ranches have been recognized for 200 years and 53 farms and ranches for 150 years of operation.

Each year a ceremony is held to recognize the farms and ranches accepted into the Family Land Heritage Program. Participants whose farm or ranch qualifies receive a certificate of honor in the name of the farm or ranch. They can also obtain a Texas Century Farm or Ranch sign to proudly display on their property and the family’s agricultural history is documented in the Family Land Heritage Registry.

A listing of FLH properties in Williamson county as of 2005.

How to Apply Application:

The Family Land Heritage program, run by the Texas Department of Agriculture, honors farms and ranches that have been used continuously within the same family for 100 or more years.

A summary of the FLH program.

Answers to frequently asked questions about the FLH program.
An order form for FLH registries since 1974.

Application forms for FLH change from year to year. Here is the application form for 2006, due by September 15, 2006. After that date, you should check with the FLH program website to get the proper forms for 2007 and beyond.